Professor Costas Galiotis

He is a Professor at the Chemical Engineering Department of University of Patras and Collaborating Faculty Member of the Institute of Chemical Engineering Sciences of FORTH (FORTH/ ICE-HT). He graduated from the University of Athens in 1977 and received his PhD from the University of London (Queen Mary College) in 1981. After a period as a post-doctoral fellow (1981-85), he was elected in 1985 as a Tenured Lecturer and then a Reader at Queen Mary. He moved to Greece in 1997 as a Research Director of FORTH/ ICE-HT and was appointed as a Professor at the University of Patras in 2002. From 2007 till 2013 he acted as the Executive Director of ICE-HT and member of the Board of Directors of FORTH. Since 2017 he serves as the Director of the Physical Sciences programme of the HFRI (Greece) and in the Executive Board of the European Graphene Flagship. He has served in all the major Research Panels of CEC (ERC, INFRAIA, Teaming, Marie-Curie, SME etc) and has also acted as Expert, Vice-Chair and Independent Observer in CEC evaluation committees. He was the Head of the National (Greek) Representation in the NMBP (Nano-Materials-Bio-Production) Committee of Horizon 2020 (2011-2018).

His current research interests are in the areas of 2D material processing, nano and micro-mechanics, composites and also preventive conservation of art objects. He has published approx. 400 journal papers, book chapters, reviews, proceedings etc which have been cited over 18000 times (GS). He is currently the Editor-in-Chief '*Graphene and 2D Materials Technology*' (Springer-Nature) and Editorial Board Member of '*Scientific Reports*' (Springer-Nature) and of '*International Materials Reviews*' (Taylor & Francis). He has been the Chairman and Organiser of a number of International Conferences such as ECCM-11 (2004), NANOCONF (2007), GrapHEL (2012), Industrial Technologies (2014) and Graphene Week 2017. He is a fellow of the European Academy of Sciences and of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3). In 2019 he received the '*Aristeion in the Physical Sciences*' which is the highest scientific award conferred every 4 years by the Academy of Athens.